Key Moments in South Carolina History

In 1566, the colony of Santa Elena was established in South Carolina by the Spanish.

The eight (8) Lord Proprietors, who were given the Carolinas by King Charles II, succeeded in establishing the first permanent European settlement in the state of South Carolina.

The first English settlement was established in South Carolina in 1670 at Albemarle Point on the Ashley River.

South Carolinians were leaders in the resistance to the Stamp Act.

Over 200 battles and skirmishes of the Revolutionary War were fought in South Carolina.

The first decisive victory of the Revolutionary War involving land and naval forces was won at Fort Moultrie, near Charleston.

The battles of Kings Mountain and Cowpens are considered by many historians to be the turning points in the Revolution.

On May 23, 1788, South Carolina became the eighth state to ratify the Constitution.

On December 20, 1860, in Charleston, South Carolina became the first state to pass the Ordinance of Secession and secede from the Union.

The first shots of the Civil War were fired at Fort Sumter in the Charleston Harbor on April 12, 1861.